2020-21 Professional Development League 2

The Professional Development League 2 is the eighth campaign of post-EPPP Under-23 football's second tier, designed for those academies with Category 2 status. A total of 18 teams are split regionally into north and south divisions, with each team facing opponents in their own region twice both home and away and opponents in the other region once. The sides finishing in the top two positions in both regions at the end of the season will progress to a knockout stage to determine the overall league champion. Nottingham Forest and Millwall are the defending regional champions.

Swansea City dropped down to Category Two status in August 2020 and will join the South division this season.

Teams

2020-21 Teams
North
Team Training Ground Manager
Barnsley Oakwell Martin Devaney
Birmingham City Trillion Trophy Training Centre Steve Spooner
Coventry City The Alan Higgs Centre John Dempster
Crewe Alexandra Gresty Road Alex Morris
Hull City Bishop Burton College Andy Dawson
Nottingham Forest The Nigel Doughty Academy Jimmy Gilligan
Sheffield United ProAct Stadium Paul Heckingbottom
Sheffield Wednesday Bracken Moor Lee Bullen
Wigan Athletic Christopher Park Gregor Rioch
South
Team Training Ground Manager
Bristol City SGS Wise Campus Alex Ball
Cardiff City Leckwith Athletics Stadium Steve Morison
Charlton Athletic Prince's Park Jason Euell
Colchester United Jobserve Community Stadium Dave Huzzey
Ipswich Town Playford Road Gerard Nash
Millwall Calmont Road Kevin Nugent
Queens Park Rangers Harlington Paul Hall
Swansea City Landore Jon Grey
Watford Clarence Park Omer Riza


↑Jump back a section

League Tables

North

Pos Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 Nottingham Forest 11 9 1 1 31 13 +18 28
2 Barnsley 12 7 3 2 24 14 +10 24
3 Sheffield United 11 9 2 2 25 10 +15 23
4 Hull City 12 7 1 4 21 13 +8 22
5 Wigan Athletic 9 7 0 2 18 13 +5 21
6 Birmingham City 11 4 1 6 24 24 0 13
7 Crewe Alexandra 11 3 2 6 17 25 -8 11
8 Coventry City 10 2 3 5 15 17 -2 9
9 Sheffield Wednesday 10 3 0 7 8 14 -6 7


South

Pos Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 Millwall 11 6 3 2 16 8 +8 21
2 Bristol City 11 7 0 4 21 14 +7 21
3 Ipswich Town 11 6 2 3 23 19 +4 20
4 Charlton Athletic 11 5 1 5 19 17 +2 16
5 Watford 11 3 2 6 13 28 -15 11
6 Queens Park Rangers 11 3 1 7 15 20 -5 10
7 Colchester United 12 2 4 5 12 25 -13 10
8 Swansea City 12 2 2 8 17 32 -15 8
9 Cardiff City 11 2 1 8 8 21 -13 7

Updated: 13th January

↑Jump back a section

Upcoming Fixtures

Monday 18 January Birmingham City vs Coventry City
Monday 18 January Colchester United vs Watford
Monday 18 January Millwall vs Ipswich Town
Monday 18 January Wigan Athletic vs Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 19 January Cardiff City vs Swansea City
Tuesday 19 January Queens Park Rangers vs Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 19 January Barnsley vs Nottingham Forest
Wednesday 20 January Sheffield United vs Hull City


↑Jump back a section

Results

January

Wednesday 13 January Hull City 1-3 Birmingham City
Tuesday 12 January Bristol City 3-1 Colchester United
Tuesday 12 January Swansea City 0-0 Millwall


Monday 11 January Charlton Athletic 4-0 Cardiff City
Monday 11 January Coventry City 4-4 Barnsley


December

▼Show
Tuesday 22 December Cardiff City 1-0 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 21 December Crewe Alexandra 0-3 Nottingham Forest
Monday 21 December Swansea City 2-3 Watford
Monday 21 December Wigan Athletic 2-1 Barnsley
Friday 18 December Birmingham City 0-1 Sheffield United
Tuesday 15 December Barnsley 1-0 Hull City
Tuesday 15 December Ipswich Town 5-1 Swansea City
Tuesday 15 December Millwall 6-1 Colchester United
Tuesday 15 December Queens Park Rangers 2-0 Bristol City
Tuesday 15 December Sheffield Wednesday 1-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 15 December Watford 2-2 Cardiff City


Monday 14 December Coventry City 2-3 Sheffield United
Tuesday 8 December Barnsley 2-1 Crewe Alexandra


Thursday 3 December Birmingham City 1-3 Wigan Athletic
Wednesday 2 December Sheffield United 4-0 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 1 December Ipswich Town 3-0 Watford
Tuesday 1 December Queens Park Rangers 3-1 Swansea City


November

▼Show
Monday 30 November Charlton Athletic 3-1 Bristol City
Monday 30 November Hull City 2-0 Coventry City
Monday 30 November Nottingham Forest 1-0 Sheffield Wednesday
Saturday 28 November Colchester United 2-0 Cardiff City


Wednesday 25 November Millwall 2-0 Cardiff City
Wednesday 25 November Wigan Athletic 1-0 Sheffield United
Tuesday 24 November Colchester United 0-0 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 24 November Swansea City 0-3 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 24 November Barnsley 2-1 Birmingham City
Tuesday 24 November Bristol City 2-0 Ipswich Town
Monday 23 November Coventry City 1-2 Nottingham Forest
Sunday 22 November Crewe Alexandra 2-2 Hull City


Tuesday 17 November Millwall 0-2 Wigan Athletic


Tuesday 10 November Ipswich Town 1-1 Coventry City
Tuesday 10 November Millwall 1-0 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 10 November Queens Park Rangers 2-4 Hull City
Wednesday 11 November Bristol City 1-2 Sheffield Wednesday
Wednesday 11 November Colchester United 1-2 Birmingham City
Monday 9 November Charlton Athletic 0-5 Barnsley
Sunday 8 November Swansea City 4-2 Nottingham Forest
Friday 6 November Watford 0-3 Sheffield United


Wednesday 4 November Wigan Athletic 3-1 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 3 November Sheffield Wednesday 0-1 Millwall
Tuesday 3 November Barnsley 2-1 Swansea City
Monday 2 November Coventry City 0-1 Bristol City
Monday 2 November Nottingham Forest 3-0 Colchester United
Monday 2 November Hull City 1-0 Charlton Athletic
Monday 2 November Sheffield United 3-1 Ipswich Town
Sunday 1 November Crewe Alexandra 1-0 Cardiff City


October

▼Show
Friday 30 October Birmingham City 2-3 Watford


Tuesday 27 October Ipswich Town 3-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 27 October Bristol City 4-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 27 October Cardiff City 2-0 Hull City
Tuesday 27 October Colchester United 1-4 Sheffield United
Tuesday 27 October Queens Park Rangers 0-2 Barnsley
Monday 26 October Charlton Athletic 3-4 Nottingham Forest
Monday 26 October Swansea City 0-3 Birmingham City
Friday 23 October Watford 0-3 Coventry City


Friday 16 October Coventry City 0-1 Millwall
Friday 16 October Birmingham City 4-5 Ipswich Town
Monday 19 October Sheffield United 4-0 Bristol City
Monday 19 October Hull City 4-0 Swansea City
Monday 19 October Nottingham Forest 4-0 Watford
Tuesday 20 October Barnsley 2-2 Colchester United
Tuesday 20 October Sheffield Wednesday 1-0 Cardiff City
Wednesday 21 October Wigan Athletic 3-0 Charlton Athletic
Wednesday 21 October Crewe Alexandra 4-1 Queens Park Rangers


Monday 12 October Colchester United 0-2 Ipswich Town


Friday 2 October Watford 0-4 Bristol City
Sunday 4 October Swansea City 3-3 Colchester United
Monday 5 October Sheffield Wednesday 1-2 Birmingham City
Tuesday 6 October Ipswich Town 2-1 Cardiff City
Tuesday 6 October Millwall 0-1 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 6 October Nottingham Forest 3-1 Hull City


September

▼Show
Wednesday 30 September Crewe Alexandra 2-3 Coventry City
Tuesday 29 September Bristol City 3-0 Swansea City
Tuesday 29 September Queens Park Rangers 1-2 Millwall
Tuesday 29 September Sheffield United 1-1 Barnsley
Monday 28 September Wigan Athletic 1-5 Nottingham Forest
Monday 28 September Charlton Athletic 2-3 Watford
Monday 28 September Hull City 1-0 Sheffield Wednesday


Monday 21 September Millwall 2-2 Watford
Monday 21 September Colchester United 0-0 Charlton Athletic
Monday 21 September Sheffield United 2-2 Nottingham Forest
Tuesday 22 September Sheffield Wednesday 0-1 Barnsley
Tuesday 22 September Cardiff City 1-2 Bristol City
Tuesday 22 September Queens Park Rangers 5-0 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 22 September Birmingham City 4-5 Crewe Alexandra
Wednesday 23 September Wigan Athletic 0-3 Hull City


Sunday 13 September Coventry City 1-1 Birmingham City
Monday 14 September Nottingham Forest 2-1 Barnsley
Monday 14 September Swansea City 5-1 Cardiff City
Monday 14 September Watford 0-1 Colchester United
Monday 14 September Hull City 2-0 Sheffield United
Tuesday 15 September Ipswich Town 1-1 Millwall
Tuesday 15 September Sheffield Wednesday 2-3 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 15 September Charlton Athletic 3-0 Queens Park Rangers


↑Jump back a section

Top Goalscorers

(Updated 14th January)

Player Club Goals
Sam Bell Bristol City 8
Danny Bramall Barnsley 8
Will Swan Nottingham Forest 8
Josh Andrews Birmingham City 7
Charlie Jolley Wigan Athletic 7
Zak Brown Ipswich Town 6
Iliman N'Diaye Sheffield United 6


↑Jump back a section

Hat-tricks

(Updated 14th January)

Player Club Date Fixture
Jake Taylor Nottingham Forest 28th September 2020 Wigan Athletic 1-5 Nottingham Forest
Louis Britton Bristol City 29th September 2020 Bristol City 3-0 Swansea City
Josh Andrews Birmingham City 16th October 2020 Birmingham City 4-5 Ipswich Town
Zak Brown Ipswich Town 16th October 2020 Birmingham City 4-5 Ipswich Town
Josh Thomas Swansea City 8th November 2020 Swansea City 4-2 Nottingham Forest
Iliman N'Diaye Sheffield United 2nd December 2020 Sheffield United 4-0 Crewe Alexandra



↑Jump back a section

Last modified on 14 January 2021, at 15:58