2020-21 Professional Development League 2

From YouthHawk
Jump to: navigation, search

The Professional Development League 2 is the ninth campaign of post-EPPP Under-23 football's second tier, designed for those academies with Category 2 status. A total of 18 teams are split regionally into north and south divisions, with each team facing opponents in their own region twice both home and away and opponents in the other region once. The sides finishing in the top two positions in both regions at the end of the season will progress to a knockout stage to determine the overall league champion. Nottingham Forest and Millwall are the defending regional champions.

Swansea City dropped down to Category Two status in August 2020 and will join the South division this season.

Contents

Teams

2020-21 Teams
North
Team Training Ground Manager
Barnsley Oakwell Martin Devaney
Birmingham City Trillion Trophy Training Centre Steve Spooner
Coventry City The Alan Higgs Centre Luke Tisdale
Crewe Alexandra Gresty Road Alex Morris
Hull City Bishop Burton College Andy Dawson
Nottingham Forest The Nigel Doughty Academy Andy Reid
Sheffield United ProAct Stadium Paul Heckingbottom
Sheffield Wednesday Bracken Moor Steven Haslam
Wigan Athletic Christopher Park Gregor Rioch
South
Team Training Ground Manager
Bristol City SGS Wise Campus Alex Ball
Cardiff City Leckwith Athletics Stadium Steve Morison
Charlton Athletic Prince's Park Jason Euell
Colchester United Jobserve Community Stadium Dave Huzzey
Ipswich Town Playford Road Kieron Dyer
Millwall Calmont Road Kevin Nugent
Queens Park Rangers Harlington Paul Hall
Swansea City Landore Kris O'Leary
Watford Clarence Park Omer Riza


League Tables

North

Pos Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 Sheffield United 21 14 4 3 53 19 +34 45
2 Nottingham Forest 22 12 5 5 43 25 +18 41
3 Birmingham City 20 11 2 7 44 36 +8 35
4 Barnsley 22 9 7 6 31 25 +6 34
5 Hull City 22 10 3 9 31 28 +3 33
6 Wigan Athletic 18 10 2 6 27 28 -1 32
7 Coventry City 22 7 6 9 35 29 +6 27
8 Crewe Alexandra 20 6 6 8 26 34 -8 24
9 Sheffield Wednesday 20 5 3 12 22 37 -15 18


South

Pos Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 (Pl) Bristol City 22 14 2 6 44 31 +13 44
2 Ipswich Town 22 10 5 7 39 39 0 35
3 Charlton Athletic 22 9 3 10 43 41 +2 30
4 Watford 22 8 5 9 29 44 -15 29
5 Cardiff City 22 9 1 12 39 34 +5 28
6 Millwall 22 7 6 9 28 32 -4 27
7 Queens Park Rangers 22 6 3 13 24 37 -13 21
8 Swansea City 20 4 5 11 28 45 -17 17
9 Colchester United 21 3 6 12 23 45 -22 15

Updated 13th April

Key:
Playoff Places
C - Champions
Pl - Confirmed Playoff Place

Upcoming Fixtures

Friday 16 April Birmingham City 3-1 Queens Park Rangers
Sunday 18 April Crewe Alexandra vs Watford
Monday 19 April Wigan Athletic vs Ipswich Town
Monday 19 April Coventry City vs Swansea City
Tuesday 20 April Barnsley vs Millwall
Tuesday 20 April Sheffield Wednesday vs Colchester United
Tuesday 20 April Hull City vs Bristol City
Wednesday 21 April Crewe Alexandra vs Wigan Athletic
Thursday 22 April Sheffield United vs Charlton Athletic


Results

April

Tuesday 13 April Bristol City 1-1 Nottingham Forest
Tuesday 13 April Cardiff City 0-2 Sheffield United
Tuesday 13 April Ipswich Town 0-1 Barnsley
Tuesday 13 April Queens Park Rangers 1-4 Coventry City
Tuesday 13 April Swansea City 1-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 13 April Millwall 2-3 Birmingham City
Monday 12 April Charlton Athletic 4-0 Sheffield Wednesday
Monday 12 April Watford 0-0 Hull City


Thursday 8 April Watford 1-1 Charlton Athletic
Wednesday 7 April Colchester United 1-2 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 6 April Ipswich Town 4-2 Bristol City
Tuesday 6 April Sheffield Wednesday 3-0 Hull City
Tuesday 6 April Coventry City 0-1 Crewe Alexandra
Friday 2 April Nottingham Forest 2-2 Birmingham City


March

▼Show
Tuesday 30 March Bristol City 3-0 Millwall
Tuesday 30 March Cardiff City 6-1 Wigan Athletic
Monday 29 March Charlton Athletic 1-2 Ipswich Town
Monday 29 March Hull City 3-0 Crewe Alexandra
Friday 26 March Colchester United 2-3 Millwall
Friday 26 March Watford 0-2 Queens Park Rangers
Friday 26 March Barnsley 0-1 Bristol City
Friday 26 March Sheffield Wednesday 0-4 Sheffield United
Thursday 25 March Coventry City 3-0 Wigan Athletic
Thursday 25 March Hull City 0-2 Nottingham Forest


Monday 22 March Crewe Alexandra 2-0 Colchester United
Monday 22 March Sheffield United 4-0 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 22 March Wigan Athletic 0-1 Watford
Monday 22 March Coventry City 4-0 Charlton Athletic
Monday 22 March Birmingham City 2-1 Cardiff City
Monday 22 March Hull City 4-1 Ipswich Town
Monday 22 March Nottingham Forest 1-1 Millwall
Tuesday 16 March Ipswich Town 2-1 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 16 March Queens Park Rangers 1-0 Cardiff City


Monday 15 March Millwall 3-3 Bristol City
Monday 15 March Sheffield Wednesday 1-3 Coventry City
Monday 15 March Nottingham Forest 0-2 Crewe Alexandra
Friday 12 March Barnsley 1-0 Wigan Athletic
Friday 12 March Sheffield United 5-0 Birmingham City
Friday 12 March Watford 2-0 Swansea City
Tuesday 9 March Bristol City 2-0 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 9 March Cardiff City 4-0 Watford


Monday 8 March Swansea City 1-1 Ipswich Town
Monday 8 March Sheffield United 3-2 Coventry City
Monday 8 March Hull City 0-0 Barnsley
Sunday 7 March Crewe Alexandra 2-2 Sheffield Wednesday
Friday 5 March Birmingham City 1-0 Nottingham Forest


Wednesday 3 March Sheffield United 1-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Wednesday 3 March Wigan Athletic 1-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 2 March Colchester United 1-2 Bristol City
Tuesday 2 March Queens Park Rangers 1-2 Watford
Tuesday 2 March Barnsley 0-0 Coventry City
Tuesday 2 March Millwall 0-2 Swansea City
Monday 1 March Cardiff City 4-5 Charlton Athletic


February

▼Show
Friday 26 February Birmingham City 3-0 Hull City
Friday 26 February Barnsley 2-2 Sheffield United
Tuesday 23 February Bristol City 0-3 Cardiff City
Tuesday 23 February Coventry City 2-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 23 February Ipswich Town 1-1 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 22 February Charlton Athletic 3-1 Colchester United
Monday 22 February Watford 4-2 Millwall
Monday 22 February Nottingham Forest 2-1 Sheffield United
Friday 19 February Barnsley 2-3 Sheffield Wednesday
Thursday 18 February Hull City 0-2 Wigan Athletic


Monday 15 February Birmingham City 2-1 Barnsley
Monday 15 February Charlton Athletic 3-4 Swansea City
Monday 15 February Nottingham Forest 0-0 Coventry City
Tuesday 16 February Cardiff City 3-0 Millwall
Tuesday 16 February Queens Park Rangers 0-1 Colchester United


Tuesday 9 February Cardiff City 4-1 Colchester United
Tuesday 9 February Swansea City 1-1 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 9 February Bristol City 4-3 Charlton Athletic
Monday 8 February Coventry City 0-1 Hull City
Monday 8 February Crewe Alexandra 0-2 Sheffield United
Friday 5 February Millwall 0-1 Queens Park Rangers
Friday 5 February Watford 3-2 Ipswich Town
Friday 5 February Sheffield Wednesday 2-0 Nottingham Forest


Thursday 4 February Wigan Athletic 1-1 Coventry City
Tuesday 2 February Cardiff City 4-0 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 2 February Bristol City 2-1 Watford
Monday 1 February Charlton Athletic 1-1 Millwall
Monday 1 February Crewe Alexandra 0-0 Barnsley


January

▼Show
Friday 29 January Birmingham City 5-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Wednesday 27 January Nottingham Forest 1-2 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 26 January Ipswich Town 2-2 Colchester United
Tuesday 26 January Swansea City 1-3 Bristol City


Wednesday 20 January Sheffield United 4-2 Hull City
Tuesday 19 January Cardiff City 2-1 Swansea City
Tuesday 19 January Queens Park Rangers 1-2 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 19 January Barnsley 0-3 Nottingham Forest


Monday 18 January Birmingham City 3-1 Coventry City
Monday 18 January Colchester United 2-2 Watford
Monday 18 January Millwall 0-1 Ipswich Town
Wednesday 13 January Hull City 1-3 Birmingham City
Tuesday 12 January Bristol City 3-1 Colchester United
Tuesday 12 January Swansea City 0-0 Millwall


Monday 11 January Charlton Athletic 4-0 Cardiff City
Monday 11 January Coventry City 4-4 Barnsley


December

▼Show
Tuesday 22 December Cardiff City 1-0 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 21 December Crewe Alexandra 0-3 Nottingham Forest
Monday 21 December Swansea City 2-3 Watford
Monday 21 December Wigan Athletic 2-1 Barnsley
Friday 18 December Birmingham City 0-1 Sheffield United
Tuesday 15 December Barnsley 1-0 Hull City
Tuesday 15 December Ipswich Town 5-1 Swansea City
Tuesday 15 December Millwall 6-1 Colchester United
Tuesday 15 December Queens Park Rangers 2-0 Bristol City
Tuesday 15 December Sheffield Wednesday 1-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 15 December Watford 2-2 Cardiff City


Monday 14 December Coventry City 2-3 Sheffield United
Tuesday 8 December Barnsley 2-1 Crewe Alexandra


Thursday 3 December Birmingham City 1-3 Wigan Athletic
Wednesday 2 December Sheffield United 4-0 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 1 December Ipswich Town 3-0 Watford
Tuesday 1 December Queens Park Rangers 3-1 Swansea City


November

▼Show
Monday 30 November Charlton Athletic 3-1 Bristol City
Monday 30 November Hull City 2-0 Coventry City
Monday 30 November Nottingham Forest 1-0 Sheffield Wednesday
Saturday 28 November Colchester United 2-0 Cardiff City


Wednesday 25 November Millwall 2-0 Cardiff City
Wednesday 25 November Wigan Athletic 1-0 Sheffield United
Tuesday 24 November Colchester United 0-0 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 24 November Swansea City 0-3 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 24 November Barnsley 2-1 Birmingham City
Tuesday 24 November Bristol City 2-0 Ipswich Town
Monday 23 November Coventry City 1-2 Nottingham Forest
Sunday 22 November Crewe Alexandra 2-2 Hull City


Tuesday 17 November Millwall 0-2 Wigan Athletic


Tuesday 10 November Ipswich Town 1-1 Coventry City
Tuesday 10 November Millwall 1-0 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 10 November Queens Park Rangers 2-4 Hull City
Wednesday 11 November Bristol City 1-2 Sheffield Wednesday
Wednesday 11 November Colchester United 1-2 Birmingham City
Monday 9 November Charlton Athletic 0-5 Barnsley
Sunday 8 November Swansea City 4-2 Nottingham Forest
Friday 6 November Watford 0-3 Sheffield United


Wednesday 4 November Wigan Athletic 3-1 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 3 November Sheffield Wednesday 0-1 Millwall
Tuesday 3 November Barnsley 2-1 Swansea City
Monday 2 November Coventry City 0-1 Bristol City
Monday 2 November Nottingham Forest 3-0 Colchester United
Monday 2 November Hull City 1-0 Charlton Athletic
Monday 2 November Sheffield United 3-1 Ipswich Town
Sunday 1 November Crewe Alexandra 1-0 Cardiff City


October

▼Show
Friday 30 October Birmingham City 2-3 Watford


Tuesday 27 October Ipswich Town 3-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 27 October Bristol City 4-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 27 October Cardiff City 2-0 Hull City
Tuesday 27 October Colchester United 1-4 Sheffield United
Tuesday 27 October Queens Park Rangers 0-2 Barnsley
Monday 26 October Charlton Athletic 3-4 Nottingham Forest
Monday 26 October Swansea City 0-3 Birmingham City
Friday 23 October Watford 0-3 Coventry City


Friday 16 October Coventry City 0-1 Millwall
Friday 16 October Birmingham City 4-5 Ipswich Town
Monday 19 October Sheffield United 4-0 Bristol City
Monday 19 October Hull City 4-0 Swansea City
Monday 19 October Nottingham Forest 4-0 Watford
Tuesday 20 October Barnsley 2-2 Colchester United
Tuesday 20 October Sheffield Wednesday 1-0 Cardiff City
Wednesday 21 October Wigan Athletic 3-0 Charlton Athletic
Wednesday 21 October Crewe Alexandra 4-1 Queens Park Rangers


Monday 12 October Colchester United 0-2 Ipswich Town


Friday 2 October Watford 0-4 Bristol City
Sunday 4 October Swansea City 3-3 Colchester United
Monday 5 October Sheffield Wednesday 1-2 Birmingham City
Tuesday 6 October Ipswich Town 2-1 Cardiff City
Tuesday 6 October Millwall 0-1 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 6 October Nottingham Forest 3-1 Hull City


September

▼Show
Wednesday 30 September Crewe Alexandra 2-3 Coventry City
Tuesday 29 September Bristol City 3-0 Swansea City
Tuesday 29 September Queens Park Rangers 1-2 Millwall
Tuesday 29 September Sheffield United 1-1 Barnsley
Monday 28 September Wigan Athletic 1-5 Nottingham Forest
Monday 28 September Charlton Athletic 2-3 Watford
Monday 28 September Hull City 1-0 Sheffield Wednesday


Monday 21 September Millwall 2-2 Watford
Monday 21 September Colchester United 0-0 Charlton Athletic
Monday 21 September Sheffield United 2-2 Nottingham Forest
Tuesday 22 September Sheffield Wednesday 0-1 Barnsley
Tuesday 22 September Cardiff City 1-2 Bristol City
Tuesday 22 September Queens Park Rangers 5-0 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 22 September Birmingham City 4-5 Crewe Alexandra
Wednesday 23 September Wigan Athletic 0-3 Hull City


Sunday 13 September Coventry City 1-1 Birmingham City
Monday 14 September Nottingham Forest 2-1 Barnsley
Monday 14 September Swansea City 5-1 Cardiff City
Monday 14 September Watford 0-1 Colchester United
Monday 14 September Hull City 2-0 Sheffield United
Tuesday 15 September Ipswich Town 1-1 Millwall
Tuesday 15 September Sheffield Wednesday 2-3 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 15 September Charlton Athletic 3-0 Queens Park Rangers


Top Goalscorers

(Updated 15th April)

Player Club Goals
Louis Britton Bristol City 13
Iliman N'Diaye Sheffield United 10
Will Swan Nottingham Forest 10
Josh Andrews Birmingham City 9
Sam Bell Bristol City 9
Zak Brown Ipswich Town 8
Isaak Davies Cardiff City 8
Danny Bramall Barnsley 7
Zak Brunt Sheffield United 7
Charles Clayden Charlton Athletic 7
Daniel Jebbison Sheffield United 7
Charlie Jolley Wigan Athletic 7


Hat-tricks

(Updated 15th April)

Player Club Date Fixture
Jake Taylor Nottingham Forest 28th September 2020 Wigan Athletic 1-5 Nottingham Forest
Louis Britton Bristol City 29th September 2020 Bristol City 3-0 Swansea City
Josh Andrews Birmingham City 16th October 2020 Birmingham City 4-5 Ipswich Town
Zak Brown Ipswich Town 16th October 2020 Birmingham City 4-5 Ipswich Town
Josh Thomas Swansea City 8th November 2020 Swansea City 4-2 Nottingham Forest
Iliman N'Diaye Sheffield United 2nd December 2020 Sheffield United 4-0 Crewe Alexandra
Ahmed Salam Hull City 22nd March 2021 Hull City 4-1 Ipswich Town
Rubin Colwill Cardiff City 30th March 2021 Cardiff City 6-1 Wigan Athletic