2023-24 Professional Development League 2

From YouthHawk
Jump to: navigation, search

The Professional Development League 2 is Under-21 football's second tier, designed for those academies with Category 2 status. The league is split regionally into north and south divisions, with each team facing opponents in their own region twice both home and away and opponents in the other region once. The sides finishing in the top two positions in both regions at the end of the season will progress to a knockout stage to determine the overall league champion. Millwall are the defending champions while Bournemouth and Fleetwood Town join Category Two for the 2023-24 season.

Contents

Teams

2023-24 Teams
North
Team Training Ground Manager
Barnsley Oakwell Tom Harban
Birmingham City St Andrew's Steve Spooner
Burnley Barnfield Andy Farrell
Coventry City The Alan Higgs Centre John Dempster
Crewe Alexandra Gresty Road Michael Jackson
Fleetwood Town Poolfoot Farm Matthew Lawlor
Hull City Bishop Burton College Conor Sellars
Peterborough United Mick George Training Academy Ryan Semple
Sheffield United ProAct Stadium Michael Collins
Sheffield Wednesday Bracken Moor Neil Thompson
Wigan Athletic Christopher Park Stephen Crainey
South
Team Training Ground Manager
Bournemouth Canford Arena Alan Connell
Bristol City SGS Wise Campus Ali Hines
Cardiff City Leckwith Athletics Stadium Darren Purse
Charlton Athletic Prince's Park Chris Lock
Colchester United Wallace Binder Ground Liam Bailey
Ipswich Town Playford Road John McGreal
Millwall Calmont Road Kevin Nugent
Queens Park Rangers Harlington Paul Furlong
Swansea City Landore Anthony Wright
Watford Clarence Park Charlie Daniels


League Tables

North

Pos Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 Birmingham City 27 13 10 4 54 33 +21 49
2 Sheffield Wednesday 26 14 6 6 53 30 +23 48
3 Sheffield United 23 13 6 4 64 26 +38 45
4 Barnsley 25 13 2 10 52 41 +11 41
5 Fleetwood Town 25 12 3 10 41 43 -2 39
6 Burnley 24 11 5 8 45 42 +3 38
7 Hull City 24 11 3 10 47 48 -1 36
8 Wigan Athletic 25 6 5 14 40 54 -14 23
9 Peterborough United 25 6 4 15 38 60 -22 22
10 Coventry City 24 6 4 14 34 56 -22 22
11 Crewe Alexandra 23 4 4 15 32 62 -30 16


South

Pos Team P W D L F A GD Pts
1 Millwall 25 15 6 4 67 38 +29 51
2 Bournemouth 25 14 3 8 47 40 +7 45
3 Queens Park Rangers 25 12 7 6 59 38 +21 43
4 Swansea City 25 13 3 9 66 46 +20 42
5 Ipswich Town 26 12 4 10 56 57 -1 40
6 Watford 25 8 6 11 38 61 -23 30
7 Charlton Athletic 23 8 3 12 50 46 +4 27
9 Cardiff City 25 5 9 11 41 57 -16 24
8 Bristol City 24 6 5 13 29 54 -25 23
10 Colchester United 24 6 4 14 37 58 -21 22

(Updated: 16th April)

Fixtures

Thursday 18 April Fleetwood Town vs Millwall
Friday 19 April Bournemouth vs Sheffield United
Friday 19 April Burnley vs Barnsley
Friday 19 April Queens Park Rangers vs Charlton Athletic
Friday 19 April Wigan Athletic vs Coventry City
Friday 19 April Crewe Alexandra vs Cardiff City
Friday 19 April Peterborough United vs Hull City
Friday 19 April Colchester United vs Sheffield Wednesday
Saturday 20 April Swansea City vs Bristol City
Monday 22 April Crewe Alexandra vs Fleetwood Town
Monday 22 April Charlton Athletic vs Sheffield United


Results

April

Tuesday 16 April Barnsley 4-1 Bristol City
Tuesday 16 April Hull City 3-1 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 16 April Coventry City 1-2 Colchester United
Tuesday 16 April Peterborough United 1-3 Swansea City
Monday 15 April Crewe Alexandra 1-1 Ipswich Town
Monday 15 April Wigan Athletic 1-2 Bournemouth
Monday 15 April Sheffield United 5-0 Watford
Monday 15 April Birmingham City 2-2 Cardiff City
Sunday 14 April Burnley 2-0 Charlton Athletic
Friday 12 April Wigan Athletic 1-2 Hull City
Friday 12 April Peterborough United 1-0 Fleetwood Town


Wednesday 10 April Charlton Athletic 0-4 Barnsley
Tuesday 9 April Bristol City 0-2 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 9 April Cardiff City 1-1 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 9 April Ipswich Town 4-1 Burnley
Tuesday 9 April Millwall 6-0 Coventry City
Tuesday 9 April Queens Park Rangers 7-0 Crewe Alexandra
Monday 8 April Swansea City 4-0 Fleetwood Town
Monday 8 April Colchester United 1-1 Birmingham City
Monday 8 April Watford 0-1 Hull City
Friday 5 April Sheffield United 2-2 Burnley


Tuesday 2 April Sheffield Wednesday 2-0 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 2 April Watford 0-5 Swansea City
Tuesday 2 April Birmingham City 3-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 2 April Hull City 6-1 Burnley


March

▼Show
Friday 29 March Burnley 1-3 Crewe Alexandra
Friday 29 March Charlton Athletic 1-2 Bournemouth
Tuesday 26 March Barnsley 1-2 Watford
Tuesday 26 March Fleetwood Town 0-5 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 26 March Coventry City 0-0 Bristol City
Tuesday 26 March Peterborough United 2-1 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 26 March Sheffield United 0-3 Millwall
Tuesday 26 March Hull City 4-1 Colchester United
Monday 25 March Wigan Athletic 2-1 Swansea City
Friday 22 March Sheffield Wednesday 3-1 Queens Park Rangers
Friday 22 March Burnley 3-1 Bournemouth
Friday 22 March Charlton Athletic 1-2 Colchester United


Tuesday 19 March Barnsley 3-1 Coventry City
Tuesday 19 March Fleetwood Town 4-1 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 19 March Ipswich Town 4-2 Bournemouth
Tuesday 19 March Watford 1-3 Bristol City
Tuesday 19 March Sheffield United 3-1 Peterborough United
Tuesday 19 March Hull City 2-2 Birmingham City
Monday 18 March Crewe Alexandra 2-4 Burnley
Friday 15 March Coventry City 0-4 Burnley
Friday 15 March Fleetwood Town 1-0 Hull City
Friday 15 March Watford 5-3 Ipswich Town
Friday 15 March Cardiff City 0-2 Bournemouth
Friday 15 March Colchester United 2-3 Millwall


Wednesday 13 March Birmingham City 3-1 Barnsley
Tuesday 12 March Ipswich Town 2-0 Bristol City
Monday 11 March Charlton Athletic 1-0 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 11 March Wigan Athletic 0-4 Sheffield Wednesday
Monday 11 March Millwall 7-0 Watford
Monday 11 March Peterborough United 3-4 Crewe Alexandra
Monday 11 March Swansea City 2-2 Cardiff City
Saturday 9 March Burnley 2-4 Hull City
Friday 8 March Colchester United 6-2 Bristol City
Thursday 7 March Barnsley 4-2 Wigan Athletic


Tuesday 5 March Cardiff City 1-3 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 5 March Bournemouth 5-0 Colchester United
Tuesday 5 March Sheffield United 2-0 Birmingham City
Tuesday 5 March Hull City 0-3 Fleetwood Town
Tuesday 5 March Queens Park Rangers 2-1 Millwall
Monday 4 March Crewe Alexandra 0-2 Sheffield Wednesday
Friday 1 March Millwall 4-1 Swansea City


February

▼Show
Wednesday 28 February Bournemouth 2-3 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 27 February Fleetwood Town 0-1 Burnley
Tuesday 27 February Sheffield Wednesday 1-2 Hull City
Tuesday 27 February Millwall 2-1 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 27 February Peterborough United 2-2 Barnsley
Monday 26 February Colchester United 2-0 Cardiff City
Monday 26 February Charlton Athletic 2-3 Watford
Monday 26 February Coventry City 1-1 Birmingham City
Monday 26 February Crewe Alexandra 3-3 Wigan Athletic
Friday 23 February Sheffield Wednesday 0-2 Coventry City
Thursday 22 February Queens Park Rangers 1-1 Colchester United


Tuesday 20 February Barnsley 1-2 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 20 February Bristol City 1-1 Millwall
Tuesday 20 February Fleetwood Town 0-0 Sheffield United
Tuesday 20 February Ipswich Town 7-3 Swansea City
Tuesday 20 February Watford 2-2 Bournemouth
Tuesday 20 February Cardiff City 2-1 Charlton Athletic
Friday 16 February Burnley 4-0 Peterborough United
Friday 16 February Fleetwood Town 2-0 Sheffield Wednesday
Friday 16 February Cardiff City 1-1 Colchester United


Wednesday 14 February Birmingham City 1-1 Fleetwood Town
Tuesday 13 February Bristol City 1-2 Cardiff City
Tuesday 13 February Coventry City 2-0 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 13 February Ipswich Town 1-8 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 13 February Sheffield Wednesday 2-1 Burnley
Tuesday 13 February Queens Park Rangers 0-1 Watford
Tuesday 13 February Sheffield United 0-1 Barnsley
Monday 12 February Millwall 2-2 Colchester United
Monday 12 February Swansea City 3-2 Bournemouth
Saturday 10 February Queens Park Rangers 2-2 Bristol City


Tuesday 6 February Coventry City 1-0 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 6 February Sheffield Wednesday 2-2 Peterborough United
Friday 2 February Burnley 2-1 Birmingham City


January

▼Show
Tuesday 30 January Bournemouth 2-3 Millwall
Tuesday 30 January Charlton Athletic 1-0 Swansea City
Tuesday 30 January Cardiff City 0-2 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 30 January Hull City 3-4 Wigan Athletic
Friday 26 January Colchester United 2-3 Ipswich Town
Thursday 25 January Fleetwood Town 2-0 Coventry City


Tuesday 23 January Sheffield Wednesday 1-0 Barnsley
Tuesday 23 January Watford 2-0 Charlton Athletic
Monday 22 January Wigan Athletic 0-3 Sheffield United


Monday 15 January Crewe Alexandra 2-5 Sheffield United
Monday 15 January Wigan Athletic 0-5 Birmingham City
Friday 12 January Colchester United 1-2 Swansea City
Friday 12 January Bournemouth 3-2 Cardiff City


Tuesday 9 January Bristol City 0-1 Bournemouth
Tuesday 9 January Burnley 1-1 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 9 January Coventry City 3-3 Hull City
Tuesday 9 January Fleetwood Town 2-4 Barnsley
Tuesday 9 January Ipswich Town 3-3 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 8 January Birmingham City 2-0 Peterborough United
Monday 8 January Cardiff City 0-0 Watford
Monday 8 January Swansea City 3-0 Millwall
Thursday 4 January Millwall 1-6 Charlton Athletic


December

▼Show
Friday 22 December Barnsley 3-0 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 19 December Sheffield Wednesday 2-2 Birmingham City
Tuesday 19 December Hull City 1-1 Sheffield United
Monday 18 December Swansea City 0-0 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 18 December Crewe Alexandra 1-2 Barnsley
Monday 18 December Wigan Athletic 5-1 Peterborough United
Monday 18 December Millwall 5-1 Cardiff City
Friday 15 December Birmingham City 2-1 Coventry City
Friday 15 December Peterborough United 1-0 Sheffield Wednesday


Monday 11 December Watford 1-3 Millwall
Tuesday 5 December Barnsley 1-2 Birmingham City
Tuesday 5 December Bristol City 4-2 Colchester United
Tuesday 5 December Fleetwood Town 3-2 Peterborough United
Tuesday 5 December Cardiff City 3-0 Swansea City
Tuesday 5 December Bournemouth 1-3 Ipswich Town
Friday 1 December Coventry City 1-3 Peterborough United
Friday 1 December Swansea City 4-1 Colchester United


November

▼Show
Thursday 30 November Bournemouth 2-1 Watford
Wednesday 29 November Wigan Athletic 1-2 Fleetwood Town
Tuesday 28 November Swansea City 4-0 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 28 November Hull City 2-5 Sheffield Wednesday
Monday 27 November Crewe Alexandra 1-6 Coventry City
Monday 27 November Millwall 5-1 Bristol City
Monday 27 November Birmingham City 3-1 Sheffield United
Monday 27 November Charlton Athletic 5-5 Cardiff City
Monday 27 November Colchester United 3-6 Queens Park Rangers


Tuesday 21 November Bristol City 0-3 Swansea City
Tuesday 21 November Ipswich Town 1-1 Millwall
Tuesday 21 November Peterborough United 1-1 Wigan Athletic
Monday 20 November Birmingham City 2-2 Burnley
Monday 20 November Queens Park Rangers 2-2 Bournemouth
Friday 17 November Sheffield United 4-4 Coventry City
Tuesday 14 November Sheffield Wednesday 1-2 Fleetwood Town


Tuesday 7 November Bournemouth 4-3 Swansea City
Tuesday 7 November Coventry City 0-2 Barnsley
Tuesday 7 November Watford 1-4 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 7 November Cardiff City 3-0 Bristol City
Tuesday 7 November Sheffield United 5-1 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 7 November Hull City 0-6 Peterborough United
Monday 6 November Charlton Athletic 5-0 Ipswich Town
Monday 6 November Crewe Alexandra 0-3 Birmingham City
Saturday 4 November Burnley 1-0 Sheffield United


October

▼Show
Tuesday 31 October Bristol City 2-2 Watford
Tuesday 31 October Sheffield Wednesday 2-1 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 31 October Coventry City 0-4 Fleetwood Town
Tuesday 31 October Peterborough United 1-2 Sheffield United
Tuesday 31 October Ipswich Town 2-0 Colchester United
Monday 30 October Queens Park Rangers 3-2 Cardiff City
Monday 30 October Wigan Athletic 5-0 Barnsley
Monday 30 October Millwall 1-2 Bournemouth
Monday 30 October Swansea City 5-0 Charlton Athletic


Tuesday 24 October Barnsley 3-2 Fleetwood Town
Tuesday 24 October Bournemouth 4-0 Bristol City
Tuesday 24 October Coventry City 0-4 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 24 October Watford 2-2 Cardiff City
Monday 23 October Crewe Alexandra 1-1 Peterborough United
Monday 23 October Queens Park Rangers 1-1 Ipswich Town
Monday 23 October Birmingham City 3-0 Hull City


Tuesday 17 October Bristol City 1-0 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 17 October Peterborough United 3-1 Burnley
Tuesday 17 October Hull City 3-1 Barnsley
Tuesday 17 October Ipswich Town 4-1 Watford
Monday 16 October Charlton Athletic 2-3 Millwall
Monday 16 October Fleetwood Town 0-2 Birmingham City
Friday 13 October Sheffield Wednesday 2-2 Sheffield United


Tuesday 3 October Barnsley 4-2 Peterborough United
Tuesday 3 October Ipswich Town 5-2 Cardiff City
Tuesday 3 October Birmingham City 0-3 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 3 October Millwall 2-2 Queens Park Rangers
Monday 2 October Charlton Athletic 4-2 Bristol City
Monday 2 October Swansea City 4-4 Watford
Monday 2 October Sheffield United 3-0 Hull City


September

▼Show
Saturday 30 September Burnley 1-1 Fleetwood Town
Friday 29 September Colchester United 0-1 Bournemouth


Wednesday 27 September Barnsley 0-0 Sheffield United
Tuesday 26 September Bournemouth 1-0 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 26 September Fleetwood Town 4-6 Crewe Alexandra
Tuesday 26 September Watford 2-1 Colchester United
Tuesday 26 September Cardiff City 0-1 Millwall
Monday 25 September Bristol City 2-0 Ipswich Town
Monday 25 September Wigan Athletic 0-1 Burnley
Monday 25 September Hull City 1-2 Coventry City
Monday 25 September Queens Park Rangers 3-1 Swansea City
Friday 22 September Peterborough United 0-2 Birmingham City


Tuesday 19 September Burnley 0-4 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 19 September Sheffield United 6-0 Fleetwood Town
Monday 18 September Crewe Alexandra 0-2 Hull City
Friday 15 September Birmingham City 1-3 Wigan Athletic


Tuesday 12 September Barnsley 1-3 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 12 September Sheffield United 6-2 Cardiff City
Tuesday 12 September Coventry City 2-3 Swansea City
Tuesday 12 September Peterborough United 1-4 Bristol City
Tuesday 12 September Wigan Athletic 3-0 Colchester United
Monday 11 September Birmingham City 3-3 Millwall
Monday 11 September Crewe Alexandra 0-1 Watford
Saturday 9 September Hull City 4-0 Bournemouth
Friday 8 September Burnley 3-0 Queens Park Rangers
Friday 8 September Sheffield Wednesday 0-2 Charlton Athletic


Tuesday 5 September Bournemouth 1-1 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 5 September Bristol City 2-1 Wigan Athletic
Tuesday 5 September Ipswich Town 3-0 Coventry City
Monday 4 September Swansea City 4-0 Hull City
Monday 4 September Queens Park Rangers 2-0 Fleetwood Town
Monday 4 September Charlton Athletic 2-2 Birmingham City
Monday 4 September Millwall 2-0 Crewe Alexandra
Friday 1 September Cardiff City 2-1 Barnsley
Friday 1 September Watford 4-3 Peterborough United
Friday 1 September Colchester United 1-4 Burnley


August

▼Show
Wednesday 30 August Hull City 2-3 Millwall
Tuesday 29 August Barnsley 3-0 Bournemouth
Tuesday 29 August Coventry City 5-2 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 29 August Fleetwood Town 1-0 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 29 August Peterborough United 1-7 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 29 August Sheffield United 4-2 Swansea City
Monday 28 August Crewe Alexandra 4-0 Colchester United
Monday 28 August Birmingham City 3-0 Bristol City
Saturday 26 August Burnley 2-2 Cardiff City
Friday 25 August Sheffield Wednesday 3-1 Watford


Tuesday 22 August Cardiff City 3-3 Sheffield Wednesday
Tuesday 22 August Bournemouth 1-0 Peterborough United
Tuesday 22 August Bristol City 0-4 Sheffield United
Tuesday 22 August Ipswich Town 1-2 Birmingham City
Monday 21 August Swansea City 4-1 Crewe Alexandra
Monday 21 August Charlton Athletic 2-2 Wigan Athletic
Monday 21 August Colchester United 3-2 Barnsley
Monday 21 August Millwall 3-1 Burnley
Monday 21 August Queens Park Rangers 4-2 Coventry City
Friday 18 August Watford 1-3 Fleetwood Town


Wednesday 16 August Wigan Athletic 2-3 Queens Park Rangers
Tuesday 15 August Barnsley 4-2 Swansea City
Tuesday 15 August Fleetwood Town 4-1 Cardiff City
Tuesday 15 August Coventry City 0-2 Bournemouth
Tuesday 15 August Hull City 2-0 Charlton Athletic
Tuesday 15 August Peterborough United 0-3 Colchester United
Tuesday 15 August Sheffield United 6-0 Ipswich Town
Tuesday 15 August Sheffield Wednesday 2-2 Millwall
Monday 14 August Crewe Alexandra 1-1 Bristol City
Monday 14 August Birmingham City 1-1 Watford


Top Goalscorers

(Updated 17th April)

Player Club Goals
Aiden Marsh Barnsley 14
Daniel Adu-Adjei Bournemouth 13
Patrick Casey Charlton Athletic 13
Kyrell Wilson Swansea City 13
Junior Dixon Birmingham City 12
Tyrell Sellars-Fleming Hull City 12
Abdul Abdulmalik Millwall 11
Bailey Cadamarteri Sheffield Wednesday 11
Leon Ayinde Ipswich Town 10
Fabio Jalo Barnsley 10
Louie Marsh Sheffield United 10
Pemi Aderoji Peterborough United 9
Tom Leahy Millwall 9


Hat-tricks

(Updated 18th April)

Player Club Date Fixture
Aiden Marsh Barnsley 15th August 2023 Barnsley 4-2 Swansea City
Louie Marsh Sheffield United 15th August 2023 Sheffield United 6-0 Ipswich Town
Steven Bala Queens Park Rangers 21st August 2023 Queens Park Rangers 4-2 Coventry City
Louie Marsh Sheffield United 22nd August 2023 Bristol City 0-4 Sheffield United
Joe Westley Burnley 8th September 2023 Burnley 3-0 Queens Park Rangers
Kyrell Wilson Swansea City 2nd October 2023 Swansea City 4-4 Watford
Daniel Kanu Charlton Athletic 2nd October 2023 Charlton Athletic 4-2 Bristol City
Daniel Adu-Adjei Bournemouth 9th November 2023 Bournemouth 4-3 Swansea City
Patrick Casey (5) Charlton Athletic 27th November 2023 Charlton Athletic 5-5 Cardiff City
Frankie Baker Millwall 27th November 2023 Millwall 5-1 Bristol City
Kristian Fletcher Swansea City 27 November 2023 Swansea City 4-0 Ipswich Town
Kristian Fletcher Swansea City 1 December 2023 Swansea City 4-1 Colchester United
Aidomo Emakhu Millwall 18th December 2023 Millwall 5-1 Cardiff City
Tolu Ladapo Charlton Athletic 4th January 2024 Millwall 1-6 Charlton Athletic
Fabio Jalo Barnsley 9th January 2024 Fleetwood Town 2-4 Barnsley
Kaleel Green Colchester United 8th March 2024 Colchester United 6-2 Bristol City
Maliq Cadogan Swansea City 2nd April 2024 Watford 0-5 Swansea City
Tyrell Sellars-Fleming Hull City 2nd April 2024 Hull City 6-1 Burnley
Tom Leahy Millwall 9th April 2024 Millwall 6-0 Coventry City
William Osula Sheffield United 15th April 2024 Sheffield United 5-0 Watford